Write a Blog >>
Fri 19 - Fri 26 October 2012 Tucson, Arizona, United States
Systems, Programming, Languages and Applications:
Software for Humanity

SPLASH is the ACM conference on Systems, Programming, Languages and Applications: Software for Humanity. SPLASH is an annual conference that embraces all aspects of software construction and delivery. This is the premier conference at the intersection of programming languages, programming, and software engineering.

Since 2010 SPLASH has been the umbrella for both OOPSLA and Onward!. This year we are pleased to again host Pattern Languages of Programs (PLoP) and the Dynamic Languages Symposium (DLS). Also, we continue the Wavefront technical track, designed to publish innovative work closely related to advanced development and production software.

SPLASH takes on the notable track record of OOPSLA as a premier forum for software innovation, while broadening the scope of the conference into new topics beyond objects and new forms of contributions.


Several awards were announced and awarded at SPLASH in 2012 and presented before keynotes:

  • OOPSLA Best Student Paper, which honors the best OOPSLA paper whose principal author was a student (or students). This award was given to Asumu Takikawa, T. Stephen Strickland, and Christos Dimoulas for their paper: “Gradual Typing for First-Class Classes” by Asumu Takikawa, T. Stephen Strickland, Christos Dimoulas, Sam Tobin-Hochstadt, and Matthias Felleisen.
  • Most Influential Paper from OOPSLA, which honors the OOPSLA paper from 10 years ago that was judged to be most influential. This award was given to Emery D. Berger, Benjamin G. Zorn, and Kathryn S. McKinley for their OOPSLA 2002 paper: “Reconsidering custom memory allocation”, in Proceeding OOPSLA ’02 Proceedings of the 17th ACM SIGPLAN conference on Object-oriented Programming, Systems, Languages, and Applications, pp 1-12. http://dx.doi.org/10.1145/582419.582421.
  • Most Influential Paper from Onward!, which honors the Onward! paper from 10 years ago that was judged to be the most influential. This award was given to James Noble and Robert Biddle for their 2002 Onward track paper: “Notes on postmodern programming”, pp. 47-71.
    See also ACM SIGPLAN Notices, 39(12):40-56, December 2004. http://dx.doi.org/10.1145/1052883.1052890.
  • ACM Student Research Competition, undergraduate category:

    1. (Gold) Zack F. Coker, Auburn University. “Security-oriented Program Transformations to Cure Integer Overflow Vulnerabilities”
    2. (Silver) Nathan Fulton, Carthage University. “Security Through Extensible Type Systems”
    3. (Bronze) Benjamin Chung, Carnegie Mellon University. “Benchmarking Typestate-Oriented Programming Languages”
  • ACM Student Research Competition, graduate category:
    1. (Gold) Gustavo Soares, Federal University of Campina Grande - Brazil, “Automated Behavioral Testing of Refactoring Engines”
    2. (Silver) Mark Zarb, University of Dundee – United Kingdom, “Developing a Coding Scheme for the Analysis of Expert Pair Programming Sessions”
    3. (Bronze) Thierry Renaux, Vrije Universiteit Brussel -Belgium, “Parallel Gesture Recognition with Soft Real-Time Guarantees”
  • John Vlissides Award, which is presented to a doctoral student participating in the Doctoral Symposium showing significant promise in applied software research. All doctoral candidates participating in the annual OOPSLA Doctoral Symposium are eligible. The award includes a prize of $2,000. This award was presented to Gustavo Soares of the Federal University of Campina Grande, Brazil and his work on “Automated Behavioral Testing of Refactoring Engines”.

Overall Schedule

Fri Oct 19 Sat Oct 20 Sun Oct 21 Mon Oct 22 Tue Oct 23 Wed Oct 24 Thu Oct 25
PLoP Dynamic

SPLASH Main Conference,
AGERE (both days)